1-11-2012 Old Home Remedies (O.H.R.) Nausea/Vomiting/Diahrhea

I’ve been thinking about what home remedies I’ve used over the years and remembered two “home remedies” my late M-i-L had me try during the first year of my marriage to her youngest son. These were shared with me on two different occasions and they both worked. I have rarely used them over the 39 years of my marriage, but I have used them both several times with complete success.

I imagine I probably need to include some sort of disclaimer (not sure why other than maybe for legal purposes) so…with these being what they are and the fact that I am not a doctor I can’t suggest you try them. If you choose to try either of these it is at your own risk. (Hope that suffices as a disclaimer.)

For diarrhea:

She blackened (burned) about a third to a half cup of flour in a dry cast iron skillet. Then she put about six ounces of milk in a glass, added a couple of tablespoons of flour and a scant tablespoon of sugar and stirred it up. The consistency was thinner than a milk shake but thicker than just milk. She had me drink it down (it didn’t taste as bad as I’d feared it would) and sure enough…my bowel movements went back to normal. (Again, try at your own risk. I don’t know if it’ll work for everyone every time, but on the few occasions I’ve used it, it worked for me.

For nausea/vomiting:

Once again, she used a glass and mixed in, ( about 50-50), milk and Vernor’s GingerAle with the instruction to drink it all. I am not a fan of GingerAle and the concoction looked disgusting. The very idea of drinking it was nearly more than my stomach could handle. But, I was raised to respect my elders, so….bottoms up. It was actually very tasty and quite soothing (not at all what I was expecting) and perhaps most importantly…It worked! No more nausea and no more vomiting. I’ve only used it a few times over the years, but it has never failed me.

I can’t say that it’ll work for everyone every time and if you try it, remember that you do so at your own risk.

About EssentialTouchHastings

Massage Therapist Level I Ama-Deus Practitioner
This entry was posted in Health, Home Remedies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

