Missing In Action

I’ve been away from WordPress for a long time now…maybe a year or more.

It’s been a tough time. Along with work, the same financial stress as most American’s with our economy doing crazy things, not to mention all the world strife the media flashes past our faces….well, a lot has been going on all over the place.

For me, however, along with being a business owner, wife, mother of adult children and grandmother to eight beautiful children, I have not been feeling well the past couple of years. Nothing I could “name” but just….”off”. Quick to catch whatever is going around (which has not been my historic normal) and experiencing odd pain off-and-on, in different areas of my body. Nothing that would stay-put long enough to be a problem for more than a few days…except for my knees…they hurt most of the time…and it all just kept getting a little worse.

Maybe 12 or 13 years ago I injured my left knee and it has hurt ever since. Some days it’s just a nagging ache but other days it’s like hot lightening shooting through it. On the really bad days, I baby it. Well, as you can imagine, after years of this, low-and-behold, my right knee has started to hurt. Over the past two years, it has gotten to where the right knee hurts worse (on most days) than the left knee.

So…now I’m trying to baby both knees which really affected my gait and so it was no surprise when my hips and ankles began to hurt. But, when my leg muscles also began to scream on a far too regular basis I knew I was in trouble. I’ve done “natural” childbirth for all four of my kids…that was a piece of cake compared to the pain in my legs. No place or position would ease the pain. Sleep happened only when I hit exhaustion because of the pain. I was seriously at the point where I was looking for a way out. I didn’t want to wake up anymore…and the idea of another 20 or so years with this to look forward to was pretty hard to get happy about.

Two weeks ago, I ran out of bread and any other bread-like convenience food (I forgot about two boxes of pasta I had in the pantry). I didn’t want to go buy commercial bread because I had all the organic ingredients needed to make a beautiful whole grain loaf of  healthy and delicious bread right in my own kitchen…and a handy-dandy bread machine that makes it all so easy. Well, it wasn’t in the cards…no matter how much I thought I wanted that bread there just wasn’t enough time between one commitment and the next to get those ingredients in the machine and be available while the machine ran (in case of the rare problem) so I didn’t make bread.

Suddenly, while talking to a friend on the phone Tuesday night (day 6 without bread) I realized that I wasn’t in pain! Now you would think that would be something I’d have noticed immediately but it wasn’t. I don’t know what time my pain left but it was gone by evening. The next day, Wednesday, I was as close to pain free as I could ever remember. Wow! I can’t begin to explain how marvelous that was after two years of steadily worsening pain. I got so caught up in doing household chores that had been neglected that I ended up just throwing some organic whole wheat pasta on to boil and opening a jar of organic pasta sauce while I sauteed onions and baby Bella mushrooms to put on top. It was wonderful! I love pasta and veggies and this just really hit the spot; my hubby is not as fond of pasta, but he deals with it gracefully most times. Sadly, there was no garlic bread to go with it 😦

When I got up at 4 AM the next morning, my knees were achy, and I didn’t think about it too much…but by the time I was done babysitting two of eight grandchildren for the day it was all I could do to keep from crying – the pain in my joints and leg muscles was THAT bad. Friday they felt better…Saturday even better still…and Sunday I was back to feeling almost no pain. The only thing that had changed was the organic whole wheat pasta I’d had for dinner Wednesday night. It took two days for the pain to ease up again.

The following Saturday, I ran some errands and picked up some wheeled carts that I brought home to use in a kitchen re-vamp. I got so involved working on that project that before I knew it, it was time to make supper, I was starving, and there was no food ready and the kitchen wasn’t exactly in the shape it needed to be in to make a meal. Hubby handed me some cash and said, “Why don’t you run to Taco Bel and get us some tacos, the corn tortillas should be safe enough.” so I did exactly that. Not even 20 minutes later, I could feel my knees start to ache and become inflamed and my thigh muscles started to really hurt. So much for that!

A daughter-in-law told me to go online and check out ingredients (I didn’t even know you could do that) and sure enough! the corn tortillas contain wheat!!! Well, that cost me Sunday and part of Monday (Labor Day) with too much pain in my legs to do much more than be really upset with myself for not planning better, with Taco Bell for putting wheat in their corn tortillas (who does that?), and with Monsanto and their ilk for screwing around with plants without proper testing along the way to see if it created problems for people.

The same daughter-in-law who told me to check the ingredients online, loaned me her copy of a book she thought I needed to read soon…it’s called “Wheat Belly” by William Davis, M.D.

This book is changing my life!!!!! Not only does it explain what happened, it showed me that I’ve been on this path for probably about 18-20 years and only in the last two had it gotten bad enough to make me really take notice. Had it not been for that six days without bread I probably would’ve ended up either dead or on the operating table hoping a knee replacement would help….and yes, I know that would’ve been the prescribed treatment…after 3-5 years of shots in my knees and pain pills to manage the pain on a daily basis (poisoning my liver and other internal organs) all because of WHEAT!!!!!! Wow. Just wow.

So, if you’ve been suffering anything, ANYTHING that you and/or your doctor can’t trace to a reason…read “Wheat Belly” by Dr. Davis.

 

 

About EssentialTouchHastings

Massage Therapist Level I Ama-Deus Practitioner
This entry was posted in Better Life, diet, headaches, Health, Home Remedies, Massage, muscle pain, Pain, rashes, Swollen joints, Wheat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

